Professional Search Engine Optimization and SEO Marketing Firm The fastest way to tap into local search engine traffic with instant online exposure!
 Home   Package Deals   Optimization   Submission   Pay-Per-Click   Paid Inclusion   Conversion   Free Tools   Blog  Search Engine and Online Marketing Blog
  
Welcome to the ineedhits Search Engine Marketing blog, where we share the latest search engine and online marketing news, releases, industry trends and great DIY tips and advice.

We encourage you to get involved in our blog community - so share your opinions and experiences by leaving comments on our posts.

If you're looking for help with promoting your website - check out our range of affordable search engine marketing services.


Tuesday, August 14

Google AdWords Algorithm Update

Do you run an AdWords campaign and want to see your business in that top ad position? Now it may be within your reach. In the upcoming weeks, Google will be tweaking their AdWords ranking algorithm which is used to determine which ads are displayed in the top spot, above organic search results.

The updated algorithm will continue to use the Google quality score and cost per click (CPC) elements in the formula, with a small change for the first ad position. Instead of using the advertisers actual cost per click, it will factor in the maximum CPC bid for each advertiser. This will allow advertisers to have more control over their ads showing in the top position.

From the Google AdWords blog:

"Actual CPC is determined, in part, by the bidding behavior of the advertisers below you. This means that your ad's chance of being promoted to a top spot could be constrained by a factor you cannot influence. By considering your ad's maximum CPC, a value you set, you will have more control over achieving top ad placement."

Let's look at a quick example. Say I have an ad with a maximum CPC of $0.25, but there are no competitors for my keywords; then I'm only paying the default cost of $0.05 per click. If any new advertisers enter the market for this keyword, I will be credited for my maximum CPC bid of $0.25, giving me greater control over retaining that top spot.

Some bloggers have raised concerns over the new formula, saying it will allow the system to be abused by advertisers willing to pay more and is just a move to increase Google profits. It should be noted that Google still use quality score as the greatest determining factor in top ad placement, making it unlikely for junk advertisers to buy their way to the top. But as far as increasing Google's profits go - it's likely that some advertisers will see an increase in the price of their keywords. As always, let us know what you think via our blog comments!

Posted by Matthew Elshaw at 5:44 AM GMT

Furl this! Google AdWords Algorithm Update   Googalize this post! Google AdWords Algorithm Update   Add to Netscape! Google AdWords Algorithm Update   Add to reddit - Google AdWords Algorithm Update   Shadow this! Google AdWords Algorithm Update   Spurl this! Google AdWords Algorithm Update   Tag to wink! Google AdWords Algorithm Update   Add to MyWeb - Google AdWords Algorithm Update   Add to BlinkList - Google AdWords Algorithm Update   Add to de-licio-usGoogle AdWords Algorithm Update   Digg It! Google AdWords Algorithm Update


3 Comments
At 1:55 AM, Blogger MythMan J said...

So, AdWords ads are a 5-cent-CPC no matter what, and bidding for top ads is just thinking of a bigger number?

That would make all the "GOOGLE ADS FOR FREE"-links I've been seeing (but not touching) make sense ... if you THINK an ad-click's worth 10 cents, and you get it for 5, then it's LIKE "free."

 
At 2:00 PM, Anonymous Anonymous said...

I don't think the default CPC is 0.05$ because I came to know that many clicks simply yield a measly 0.01$ in the adsense earning.
http://www.dairyforall.com

 
At 1:36 AM, Blogger Matthew Elshaw said...

The cost-per-click (CPC) of AdWords listings depends on the competition for your chosen keyword(s). If you're bidding on popular keywords, your likley to be paying a lot more than $0.05. In my example, the advertiser would only be paying around $0.05 as there was no competition for his keywords.

 
 

Post a Comment

Search Engine Marketing Blog Homepage 
Our Newsletter 
Sign up for industry news, useful tips & special offers.

Subscribe! 
Feedburner    Atom
Site Feed
 
Free Tools
 

www.gooruze.com

Archives 
Recent Posts:
Boost Your Sales with Testimonials
Google Instant Indexing - Rev Up Your Rankings
Microsoft Looks at Facebook Buyout to Combat Googl...
NEW Google Release - AdWords Editor 4.0
Yahoo! Attacks YouTube with Flickr!
Local Search Booms - Driving Offline Sales
Fake Google PageRank: How to Avoid the Trap
Google Supplemental Results on the Verge of Extinc...
4 Tips to Building a Better Online Brand
Google Crack Down on YouTube Copyright Infringemen...
Recent Posts:
Search Engine Marketing Blog Homepage
Contributors 
Warren Duff
Rene LeMerle
Jackie Shervington
Recommended 
7 Day Google Inclusion
Get listed in Google in 7 days - guaranteed! Only $24.99/mth
Buy Now More ...

Guaranteed Top 10 Listing
Guaranteed top 10 listing in 250+ search engines - Just $9.99/month
Buy Now More ...

Google & Yahoo! Advertising
Instant exposure and quality website traffic from Google & Yahoo! sponsored advertising. Increase your traffic from only $99 per month.
Buy Now More ...

Archives:
May 2005
June 2005
July 2005
August 2005
September 2005
October 2005
November 2005
December 2005
January 2006
February 2006
March 2006
April 2006
May 2006
June 2006
July 2006
August 2006
September 2006
October 2006
November 2006
December 2006
January 2007
February 2007
March 2007
April 2007
May 2007
June 2007
July 2007
August 2007
September 2007
October 2007
November 2007
December 2007
January 2008
February 2008
March 2008
April 2008
May 2008
June 2008
July 2008


Promote your website for as little as 0.8 cents per banner display.



Home  |  Package Deals  |  Optimization  |  Submission  |  Pay-Per-Click  |  Paid Inclusion  |  Local Search  |  Conversion  |  Free Tools  |  Help
Shopping Cart  |  Account Login  |  FAQ  |  Contact  |  Privacy  |  Security  |  Terms & Conditions  |  About  |  Reseller Programs  |  Site Map
Member of SEMPO (Search Engine Marketing Professional Organisation)
ineedhits, ineedhits.com, and their designs, logos, and
related marks are trademarks of Ineedhits.com Pty Ltd.
© Copyright 1999 - 2008 ineedhits.com